Quezon City, Philippines (November 6, 2016) – Pop balladeer Jed Madela, resident ASOP judge Mon Del Rosario, premiere singer Trina Belamide, record label honcho Jonathan Manalo and entertainment editor Isah Red will seat along Superstar Ms. Nora Aunor in the judging panel of this year’s A Song of Praise (ASOP) Music Festival Grand Finals Night.

ASOP Year 5 Grand Finals panel of judges. From left to right: Superstar Nora Aunor, Jed Madela, Doktor Musiko Mon Del Rosario, Trina Belamide, Jonathan Manalo and Isah Red.

These distinguished panel of judges will choose this year’s grand champion from the twelve new original song compositions on ASOP Grand Finals night on November 7 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

ASOP is the first and only praise songwriting competition on Philippine television.

Panel of Judges

Ms. Nora Aunor is the Philippines’ one and only “Superstar.” She has received numerous national and international awards and the first Filipino actress to win an acting award in a major international film festival in Cairo (1995) for the movie “The Flor Contemplacion Story.”

Aside from acting, Aunor is also a recording artist. She started her career as a singer when she won the amateur singing contest “Tawag ng Tanghalan” in 1967 and known for her “golden voice.” She has more than 200 singles. Her cover of “Pearly Shells” in 1971 is one of the biggest-selling singles in Philippine music history.

Jed Madela is a recording artist and TV host. He became the first Filipino to win the World Championship of the Performing Arts (WCOPA) world grand champion title in 2005 when he sang Aerosmith’s “I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing.”

Jed is also called as the “Voice” for his exceptional and wide vocal range. He’s a regular performer in ASAP and currently under ABS-CBN’s Star Music record label.

Mon Del Rosario, also known as “Doktor Musiko,” is a topnotch composer, musical arranger and record producer. He is the ASOP resident critic, judge and a certified hitmaker. He composed timeless hits such as “Isang Linggong Pag-ibig” and “Somewhere in My Past.”

Doc Mon oversees the process of studio recording and production of ASOP songs. He’s also the former president of Filipino Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (FILSCAP).

Trina Belamide is an award-winning composer and record producer. She has written songs for the country’s top recording artists. Trina is behind the hits “Shine” and “Kailangan Ko’y Ikaw” sung by Asia’s Songbird Ms. Regine Velasquez and the inspirational song, “Tell the World of His Love.” She is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of FILSCAP

Jonathan Manalo began writing gospel music at a young age of 13. He is also a multi-awarded songwriter and album producer, with more than 80 multi-platinum and gold awards. He’s behind phenomenal hit songs like “Pinoy Ako” of Pinoy Big Brother and “Pagbigyang Muli” sung by Erik Santos. Jonathan is currently the audio content executive of Star Music.

Completing the list of ASOP judges is respected journalist Isah Red. He’s an alumnus of the University of the Philippines and a former lecturer, teaching broadcast communications in several colleges and universities. Isah is currently the entertainment editor of broadsheet newspaper, the Manila Standard.

Winning entries will be judged based on musical content including the melody, harmony and lyrics and the overall appeal of the song.

Guest performers

ASOP also invited talented guest performers during the finals night.

These include world-class talents like all-female group 4th Impact, 5th placer in The X-Factor United Kingdom, The Voice of the Philippines Season 2 grand winner Jason Dy, Your Face Sounds Familiar 1st runner-up Michael Pangilinan, Pinoy Dream Academy Season 2 finalist Liezel Garcia, and The Voice of the Philippines Season 2 finalist Leah Patricio.

Last year, Leah won the “Best Song Interpreter” award for the Christian Malinias’ composition, “Kung Pag-ibig Mo’y Ulan,” ASOP’s Year 4 “Song of the Year.”

ASOP Year 5 Grand Finals guest performers. From left to right: 4th Impact, Jason Dy, Michael Pangilinan, Liezel Garcia and Leah Patricio. Photos courtesy of Wish FM Facebook page.

12 Grand Finalists

The 12 finalists for this year’s ASOP Music Festival are “God Will Always Make a Way” by Glenn Bawa and Ronald Calpis, interpreted by Bugoy Drilon; “Tapat Mong Pangako” by Gulliver Enverga, interpreted by The Voysing; “Ikaw Lamang” by Jonathan Sta. Rita, interpreted by Tim Pavino; “Ikaw Pala” by Wilfredo Gaspar, interpreted by Ima Castro; “Tanging Ligaya” by Angelica Soriano, interpreted by Zendee; “Ang Iyong Pangalan” by Romarico Mendiola Jr., interpreted by Jovit Baldovino; “Patawarin Mo Ako” by Fernando Gardon, interpreted by Kris Lawrence; “Araw at Ulan” by Joselito Caleon, interpreted by Sitti; “Pag-Ibig Ka Oh Dios” by LJ Mansano, interpreted by the JBK; “Mula Sa Aking Puso” by Joseph Ponce, interpreted by Carlo David; “Kumapit Ka Lang” by Noemi Ocio, interpreted by Mela Ravanilla and “You Stood by Me” by Vincent Labanting, interpreted by Jason Fernandez.


More than Php 1 million cash prize is at stake. Php 500,000 will be received by the composer of the winning “Song of the Year,” Php 250,000 for the 1st runner up, Php 150,000 for the 2nd runner up and Php 100,000 for the 3rd runner-up.
Winners of the “Best Song Interpreter” and “People’s Choice Award” will also receive Php50,000 each. Non-winners will receive Php 20,000 as consolation prize.


Produced by Breakthrough and Milestones Productions International (BMPI), ASOP Music Festival was launched on UNTV News and Rescue in 2011.


ASOP Music Festival is conceptualized for television by Kuya Daniel Razon, in line with his advocacy to inspire everyone to give praise and glory to God. ASOP also supports the Original Pilipino Music (OPM) industry, particularly the gospel and praise music genre. Razon is CEO and Chairman of BMPI, which is the content provider for UNTV News and Rescue.

Meanwhile, ASOP is a brainchild of Bro. Eli Soriano, who is also known as “Bro Eli”. He started it as a songwriting competition inside the Members Church of God International since 2004. Bro. Eli is the main host of the program “Ang Dating Daan,” the longest-running religious program in the Philippines.

ASOP Music Festival on television airs every Sunday, 7 pm on UNTV News and Rescue, and hosted by Richard Reynoso and Toni Rose Gayda.

The program is simulcast over UNTV Radio La Verdad 1350 KHz on the AM band.
Official music videos of ASOP Year 5 grand finalists also are available on ASOP TV’s official YouTube channel, https://www.youtube.com/user/asoptv. [techthetruth]

Suggested articles: