Quezon City, Philippines (November 7, 2016) – The country’s one and only “Superstar” Ms. Nora Aunor, will seat in the judging panel of this year’s A Song of Praise (ASOP) Music Festival Grand Finals Night, happening tonight, 7 pm at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Award-winning actress Ms. Nora Aunor. Photo courtesy of news.abs-cbn.com.

She will be joined by distinguished personalities in music and entertainment industry.

These include pop balladeer and 2005 World Championship of the Performing Arts (WCOPA) grand champion Jed Madela, premiere singer and composer, Trina Belamide, multi-platinum record producer and ABS-CBN’s Star Music record label executive, Jonathan Manalo, Manila Standard’s entertainment editor, Isah Red and certified hitmaker and ASOP’s resident judge Mon Del Rosario.

The acclaimed panel of judges will choose this year’s grand champion from the twelve new original song compositions on ASOP Grand Finals.

Joining Ms. Nora Aunor in ASOP Year 5 Grand Finals panel of judges. From left to right: Jed Madela, Trina Belamide, Jonathan Manalo, Isah Red and Mon Del Rosario.

Winning entries will be judged based on musical content including the melody, harmony and lyrics and the overall appeal of the song.

ASOP is the first and only praise songwriting competition on Philippine television.

The Superstar

Ms. Nora Aunor, also known as “Ate Guy,” has received numerous national and international awards.

She’s a Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) hall of fame awardee and the first Filipino actress to win an acting award in a major international film festival in Cairo (1995) for the movie “The Flor Contemplacion Story.”

Ate Guy in the upcoming movie “Isang Araw: Ikatlong Yugto” produced by BMPI. Photo courtesy of UNTV News and Rescue.

Aside from acting, Aunor is also a recording artist. She started her career as a singer when she won the amateur singing contest “Tawag ng Tanghalan” in 1967, where she sang “Moonlight Becomes You.”

She is also known for her exceptional “golden voice.” She has more than 200 singles and more than 25 studio albums. Her cover of “Pearly Shells” in 1971 is one of the biggest-selling singles in Philippine music history.

12 Grand Finalists

The 12 finalists for this year’s ASOP Music Festival are “God Will Always Make a Way” by Glenn Bawa and Ronald Calpis, interpreted by Bugoy Drilon; “Tapat Mong Pangako” by Gulliver Enverga, interpreted by The Voysing; “Ikaw Lamang” by Jonathan Sta. Rita, interpreted by Tim Pavino; “Ikaw Pala” by Wilfredo Gaspar, interpreted by Ima Castro; “Tanging Ligaya” by Angelica Soriano, interpreted by Zendee; “Ang Iyong Pangalan” by Romarico Mendiola Jr., interpreted by Jovit Baldovino; “Patawarin Mo Ako” by Fernando Gardon, interpreted by Kris Lawrence; “Araw at Ulan” by Joselito Caleon, interpreted by Sitti; “Pag-Ibig Ka Oh Dios” by LJ Mansano, interpreted by the JBK; “Mula Sa Aking Puso” by Joseph Ponce, interpreted by Carlo David; “Kumapit Ka Lang” by Noemi Ocio, interpreted by Mela Ravanilla and “You Stood by Me” by Vincent Labanting, interpreted by Jason Fernandez.


More than Php 1 million cash prize is at stake. Php 500,000 will be received by the composer of the winning “Song of the Year,” Php 250,000 for the 1st runner up, Php 150,000 for the 2nd runner up and Php 100,000 for the 3rd runner-up.

Winners of the “Best Song Interpreter” and “People’s Choice Award” will also receive Php50,000 each. Non-winners will receive Php 20,000 as consolation prize.

Guest performers

ASOP also invited talented guest performers during the finals night.

These include world-class talents like all-female group 4th Impact, 5th placer in The X-Factor United Kingdom, The Voice of the Philippines Season 2 grand winner Jason Dy, Your Face Sounds Familiar 1st runner-up Michael Pangilinan, Pinoy Dream Academy Season 2 finalist Liezel Garcia, and The Voice of the Philippines Season 2 finalist Leah Patricio.

Last year, Leah won the “Best Song Interpreter” award for the Christian Malinias’ composition, “Kung Pag-ibig Mo’y Ulan,” ASOP’s Year 4 “Song of the Year.”

ASOP Year 5 Grand Finals guest performers. From left to right: 4th Impact, Jason Dy, Michael Pangilinan, Liezel Garcia and Leah Patricio. Photos courtesy of Wish FM Facebook page.


Produced by Breakthrough and Milestones Productions International (BMPI), ASOP Music Festival was launched on UNTV News and Rescue in 2011.

ASOP Music Festival is conceptualized for television by Kuya Daniel Razon, in line with his advocacy to inspire everyone to give praise and glory to God. ASOP also supports the Original Pilipino Music (OPM) industry, particularly the gospel and praise music genre. Razon is CEO and Chairman of BMPI, which is the content provider for UNTV News and Rescue.

Meanwhile, ASOP is a brainchild of Bro. Eli Soriano, who is also known as “Bro Eli”. He started it as a songwriting competition inside the Members Church of God International since 2004. Bro. Eli is the main host of the program “Ang Dating Daan,” the longest-running religious program in the Philippines.

The men behind ASOP: Bro. Daniel S. Razon (left) and Bro. Eli Soriano (right).

ASOP Music Festival on television airs every Sunday, 7 pm on UNTV News and Rescue, and hosted by Richard Reynoso and Toni Rose Gayda.

The ASOP hosts: Richard Reynoso and Toni Rose Gayda. Photo courtesy of ASOP and UNTV News and Rescue.

The program is simulcast over UNTV Radio La Verdad 1350 KHz on the AM band.

Official music videos of ASOP Year 5 grand finalists also are available on ASOP TV’s official YouTube channel, https://www.youtube.com/user/asoptv.

All songs produced by ASOP Music Festival are not for sale. All tracks in digital MP3 format since its first season can be downloaded for free. ASOP’s limited edition commemorative albums in CD format are also free. [techthetruth]

Suggested articles: